Belgium has concluded agreements on social security with several countries. These agreements may allow you to export some of your Belgian social rights to other countries.

The countries Belgium has concluded a bilateral agreement with

If you are coming to Belgium from a country which Belgium has concluded a bilateral agreement with, the nature and the extent of the social rights you may preserve depend on the provisions of the agreement that has been concluded with this country.

At present, Belgium has concluded bilateral agreements with 25 countries: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Canada (also a separate agreement with Québec), Brazil, Chile, DR Congo, the Philippines, India, Israel, Japan , Kosovo, FYR Macedonia, Moldova, Morocco, San Marino, Montenegro, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, the United States and South Korea.

For more information on your rights when you come from one of these countries, please select the appropriate country below.

The countries of the European Economic Area and Switzerland

If you are coming to Belgium from a country of the European Economic Area or Switzerland, your social security rights will be determined in accordance with the European regulations.

The countries where these regulations apply are: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

For more information on the European social security regulations, please select the EEA below.